Cuomo discourses all non-essential travel between CT, NJ, and PA as COVID-19 increases

SUFFOLK COUNTY, NY ( / — Governor Andrew Cuomo wants everyone to avoid non-essential travel between New York and three neighboring states, Connecticut, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

According to Cuomo, Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania now meet the criteria for the COVID-19 travel advisory. However, given the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between the four states, a quarantine on these states is not practically viable, Cuomo said. New York State highly discourages, to the extent practical, non-essential travel to and from these states while they meet the travel advisory criteria, Cuomo added.

In addition, Cuomo added Arizona and Maryland to New York's travel advisory. No areas have been removed. The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. 

The updated travel advisory comprises the following:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. Colorado
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Guam
  10. Iowa
  11. Idaho
  12. Illinois
  13. Indiana
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maryland
  18. Michigan
  19. Minnesota
  20. Missouri
  21. Mississippi
  22. Montana
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Nebraska
  26. New Mexico
  27. Nevada
  28. Ohio
  29. Oklahoma
  30. Puerto Rico
  31. Rhode Island
  32. South Carolina
  33. South Dakota
  34. Tennessee
  35. Texas
  36. Utah
  37. Virginia
  38. Wisconsin
  39. West Virginia
  40. Wyoming

To learn more about the travel advisory and requirements, visit

NYS travel advisory as of Oct. 20, 2020

The advisory now applies to the 40 states and territories highlighted in red. Governor Andrew Cuomo discourages non-essential travel among the states in yellow. No travel advisory applies to the states in green.

Editor's Picks

Submit news, views and sports. Post to the events calendar. Sign up for free newsletters. Advertise your business. Email the publisher. 
Connect on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube., powered by, reports hyperlocal news for the 85,000 residents that call Sachem home. serves Farmingville, Holbrook, Holtsville, Lake Grove, Lake Ronkonkoma, portions of Centereach and Nesconset, and nearby communities on Long Island, NY.
Load comments

Recommended for you