Most of the U.S. now under NY's self-quarantine travel advisory

SUFFOLK COUNTY, NY ( / — New York State's travel advisory continues to grow as more parts of the U.S. have "significant community spread" of COVID-19, according to Governor Andrew Cuomo's announcement on Tuesday. The advisory now applies to 38 states and territories.

On Tuesday, Cuomo added Ohio, Michigan and Virginia to New York's travel advisory while no states or territories have been removed. According to Cuomo, the advisory requires individuals from those areas to self-quarantine for 14 days once they arrive in New York. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The updated travel advisory comprises the following:

  1. Alaska
  2. Alabama
  3. Arkansas
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Guam
  9. Iowa
  10. Idaho
  11. Illinois
  12. Indiana
  13. Kansas
  14. Kentucky
  15. Louisiana
  16. Michigan
  17. Minnesota
  18. Missouri
  19. Mississippi
  20. Montana
  21. North Carolina
  22. North Dakota
  23. Nebraska
  24. New Mexico
  25. Nevada
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. Puerto Rico
  29. Rhode Island
  30. South Carolina
  31. South Dakota
  32. Tennessee
  33. Texas
  34. Utah
  35. Virginia
  36. Wisconsin
  37. West Virginia
  38. Wyoming

To learn more about the travel advisory and requirements, visit

NYS travel advisory as of Oct. 13, 2020

The advisory now applies to the 38 states and territories highlighted in red.

Submit local news, views and sports. Post to the local events calendar. Sign up for free newsletters. Advertise your business. Email the publisher. 
Connect with OnSachem news on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.
Load comments

Recommended for you